White claims Fairest and BestMonday, August 14, 2017 - 2:24 PM

Share |

Coastal Titans Football Club’s Jodie White has won the Mundella WA Women’s Football League’s Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best at the 2017 Medal Presentation Dinner on Monday night at the Hyatt Regency, Perth.

The moment was even sweeter for the Coastal Titans WFC who had claimed the Fairest and Best in both the Reserves and Rogers Cup divisions beforehand.

Held in front of more than 245 guests, the Medal Presentation Dinner celebrates the WA Women’s Football League’s Fairest and Best players within the competition.

President of the WA Women’s Football League Carolyn Hills opened proceedings by recognising the milestones of the year, including recognition of the 37 WAWFL players selected as AFLW players, the partnering with Mundella Foods and officially governing the Rogers Cup competition going forward.

“2017. What an incredible year! There are so many moments to celebrate, but the inaugural AFLW season was absolutely the best. Who would have thought they would ever see a national women’s AFL competition? Simply incredible”.

 “To see the team run out on Fremantle Oval was a moment I’m sure I shared with the majority of the crowd here tonight, and one I won’t easily forget” Carolyn said.

In a fantastic achievement, and now recognised as the best senior female footballer in WA, Coastal Titans Jodie White graciously accepted the title of the Dhara Kerr Fairest and Best. This is an amazing achievement for Jodie who is playing her first season after a having two year hiatus. This is also the 36 year old’s first Mundella WAWFL Fairest and Best award after having played for the Titans since the Club’s inception in 2004.

In an exciting finish that went down to the last round of the season, White was able to claim the win winning two votes in the final game to secure her final tally of 26 votes. Fellow teammate, and Titans Captain, Hayley Miller, chased Jodie throughout season, and fell just two short to finish on 24 votes. Finishing third was Peel Thunderbird Sabreena Duffy who claimed a total of 19 votes for the season.

In a decorated night for the Coastal Titans, Reserves player Melissa Lim was awarded the Reserves Fairest and Best. With 20 votes for the season, 6 clear of second placed Jasmine Calgaret of Perth Angels, Melissa had an impressive five games in which she was awarded a full three votes.

Our inaugural Rogers Cup Fairest and Best award was won by Abbey Dowrick, also from Coastal Titans. With a tally of twenty-six votes, Abbey was well ahead of her chasing opponents, with second place finishing in a three way tie between Mikayla Morrison from East Perth, Nyra Anderson from Swan Districts and South Fremantle’s Shantae Freeman who all finished on fifteen votes.

With 38 goals to her name for the season, the Joanne Huggins Leading Goal Scorer award was won by Peel Thunderbirds Kira Phillips. The Reserves Leading Goal Scorer was awarded to Danielle Fagents from Coastal Titans who kicked an impressive 55 goals, while South Fremantle’s Shakira Pickett took out the title for Rogers Cup with 31 goals to her name.

Also presented on the night were our rookie awards which are awarded to first year players that record the most votes across the year.  The Cath Boyce Rookie of the Year was awarded to Peel Thunderbird’s Sabreena Duffy, Reserves Rising Star award went to Bridget Henderson from Coastal Titans, and Rogers Cup Rising Star was awarded to Nyra Anderson from Swan Districts.

The Lynette Smith Volunteer of the Year award was presented to the very deserving Narelle Scott from East Fremantle. With over ten years dedication to East Fremantle, and female football in Perth, Narelle has proven herself worthy of taking our this prestigious award.

The 2008-2017 Mundella WAWFL Team of the Decade was also announced on the night with Kiara Bowers (Coastal Titans) named as Captain, Kara Donnellan (Swan Districts) and Chelsea Randall (Swan Districts) Co-Vice Captains, and Martine Pearman (Coastal Titans) confirmed as Coach. 

League, Reserves and Rogers Cup Grand Finals take place this weekend at Medibank Stadium, Leederville. Entry is $5 per person, including a year book. Bounce down for League game is 2:30pm, following Reserves at 12:00pm and Rogers Cup at 10:00am.